30 Days of Thanksgiving:Day 17

Day 17: One Day…Some Day

“I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people.” (1 Timothy 2:1)

I sit in front of my computer mindlessly, going through emails. Feeling tired but somehow I don’t feel accomplished today so I want to check few things off of my to-do list. There’s an email, Bible verse of the day, and it says John 13:34-35. “A new command I give you: love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” And then I think to myself, was I loving today? Was I able to check “loved someone today” off of my to-do list today? Did I make anyone to think, ah, that person must be a child of God? And I’m not so sure….

It’s so easy to be selfish because me, myself and I are all around me and I can’t seem to think away from me. But it is not about me, is it? If it was, the moment I was saved, God the Father would have called me home and I would be “up” there, with Him, wherever it might be. And I have responsibility to love and make petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving for all people. That should be the first thing on my to-do list, everyday, btu the reality is that it isn’t. And I get very tired of my human sinful nature and be thankful for unending God’s grace at the same time. And He is loving. And all people know that He loves because He is love.

Be loving. I scribble that on top of my to-do list today and I promise myself that I shall try to check it off of my to-do list everyday for as long as I shall live.

Leave a Reply

