30 Days of Thanksgiving:Day 16

Day 16: We Dream Big. God Dreams Better.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord,“plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

This morning as I read Jeremiah 29:11, I’m thankful for God’s wonderful plan for my life and my family. I remember holding on to Jeremiah 29:11 for the past two pregnancies of ours, crying out to God for His mercy on me and His protection over my unborn babies. The same high risk pregnancies with the same problems and symptoms but one resulted in miscarriage and another resulted in one of the most beautiful baby girls I’ve ever seen.  I vividly remember as if it was just yesterday how, every time I recite that verse, God rewarded me with His peace that surpasses all understanding and how I was thankful, so thankful for His grace, love and mercy even in the midst of my deepest sorrow of losing a child. Yes, I remember His warm embrace that consoled me and how meditating on Jeremiah 29:11 between my sobs comforted me…. And I finally understood…how God must have felt when He lost His precious son. No, it’s not even remotely close but I saw the pain and the depth of God’s sorrow He must have endured. Oh, how I love Him….

It’s been few years now and with my precious boy in heaven with Jesus and another sweet darling baby girl playing along side of her older sister, and I’m so grateful for God’s plan, plans to prosper me and not to harm me, plans to give me a hope and a future. One of my unbelieving sisters asked me once soon after my miscarriage, ‘why did your God take your baby boy away?!’ I didn’t know myself and I didn’t have an answer for her. But still I told her. I told her that I was not sure, though I could come up with so many reasons why. I told her it doesn’t change anything. I told her that God still loves me and He has a wonderful plan for my life. I told her that His ways are higher than mine and His thoughts, my thoughts. But most of all, my hope in Him is greater than ever, if that’s even possible, and at the end of that hope, God’s grace will rewarded me with extra joy because I’ll get to see my precious boy and will get to know him forever. All because God loves me….

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord,“plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

Yes, indeed. The verse is hung above my darling baby girl’s crib when she was born to let her know how God loves her and how He has a wonderful plan for her. And to remind myself everything that God has done for me and many more blessings He’s going to pour down on me. I’m thankful for the hope in Christ and for the little precious two princesses in my arms that I get to call forever mine.

Leave a Reply

