30 Days of Thanksgiving:Day 4, 5 & 6

Day 4: Seeds of Thankfulness

“Enter His gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name.” (Psalm 100:4)

As Bella drops 10% of her weekly allowance into her ‘tithe money jar’ we ask why we give to God and to Him first. And she doesn’t get the answer right for the past few months although we do this every week. It is frustrating and I wonder what did I do wrong? Is it too difficult for her to understand? No, she gets harder questions all the time. And then I stop and think. I’m grateful that my little girl has an opportunity to get to know her heavenly Father at a young age unlike her mother and get to experience the width and depth of His love growing up, which I knew nothing of. It’s those little things that bother me daily but I’m indeed planting….seeds of thankfulness. And then I realize, it’s not just about me and God. My thanksgiving affects my children as well and it is my responsibility to plant that seed well in my girls’ precious hearts. And with that, my morning looks so different, heavy with responsibilities but hopeful with brighter future and God’s rewards!

Day 5: What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Hopeful

“…and we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also; knowing that tribulation worketh patience; And patience, experience; and experience, hope.” (Romans 5:3-4)

I didn’t have hope before Christ in my life but now that I have found God, my life is full of hopes. That is why I see answers where no answer could be found and I see joy where there’s nothing but despair in our human eyes. This place I’m living with my earthly body is not my home and the troublesome road that I need to take to get home, no matter how hard and impossible it may seem at times, is nothing compared to the warm embrace of my heavenly Father and His sweet whisper, “well done, my good and faithful child…come and share my happiness.” And because of that hope, I soldier on yet another day with joy and thanksgiving.

Day 6: Spinning In Circles

“I always thank my God for you because of His grace given you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Corinthians 1:4)

My husband used to say about someone who did an awful things in the eyes of justice, “and yet, he also is a child of God and I’m supposed to love him.” Yes, sometimes he says it with a sarcastic tone of voice but he says it nonetheless and I know he’s speaking the truth. We all are children of God and no one deserves that title but somehow we do with God’s grace. So yes, we should offer thanksgiving for others and their differences and when we do, we’ll see the face of God in the oppositions.

One response to “30 Days of Thanksgiving:Day 4, 5 & 6

  • Peter

    My girls are blessed to have a mother that knows and loves Jesus and passes it on to her children with wisdom and grace. You’re phenominal. Don’t sell yourself short. Love always! – peter

Leave a Reply

