30 Days of Thanksgiving:Day 1 & 2

Our church is doing 3o Days of Thanksgiving in the month of November and so am I! Giving thanks is my offering to God and that is indeed all I have to give because I can’t add anything to His grace that is beyond my comprehension.

Day 1: Thankfulness Starts With Me

“Oh, give thanks to the Lord, for He is good, for his steadfast love endures forever! Let the redeemed of the Lord say so, whom he has redeemed from trouble.” (Psalm 107)

Thanksgiving starts with me. How true. There’s nothing I can control in this world other than myself and when I give thanks lifted high up to my Father in heaven, He changes the world around me to show His grace and love. I want more love and more grace and more of my Father all the time and for that selfish reason, I give thanks so that He will open up the floodgates of heaven and pour out His blessing endlessly….

Day 2: A Sign of Thanks

“O give thanks to the LORD, for He is good; For His loving kindness is everlasting.” (1 Chronicles 16:34)

Bowing down. Lifted hands. Tears streaming down my face. Closed eyes. They are signs of my thanksgiving to my heavenly Father and they are never enough. Life is not easy and in the midst of it, I forget what His love feels like, what His grace sounds like and how His mercy touches my shoulders. And then I can’t remember His words and promises and they seem so far away. I desperately want to see His face and tried to grab a hold of Him but it never works…until I get out of my ‘self’ and look around. His creation is so beautiful it hurts my eyes and His children, both in my home and outside of my world, shine like the sun. And I can’t help but give thanks to my Father and then and only then, I can see His face. His abundant grace that covers me has a face that I can see and touch and feel.

He whispers to me, ‘child, it is my gift to you.’  And I tear up. Yes, thanksgiving is God’s gift to me. And then I realize the only thing in my possession to give Him is not even mine. It’s His. It’s all His and everything is from Him. And I feel so small….but so loved. He needs nothing from me, none, and He loves me so much nonetheless. I will never know why and how much. But it does not matter because my desire for Him is enough and my hope of eternal life and worshiping Him forever is more than I can bear in this life.

I love Him. I truly love Him. And that is all it matters to me.

Leave a Reply

