What’s On Your Nightstand: July 2012

So I’ve missed past few months’ What’s On Your Nightstand posts and decided that that’s enough! :-)

What I finished reading this month:

  1. #89 Spiritual Common Sense: 77 Guiding Principles for a More Meaningful Life by Bill Halamandaris A friend of mine whom I have much respect for wrote this book and it was very sweet and brought me many good memories.
  2. #90 Being Good to Your Husband on Purpose by Becky Hunter This is a wonderful book written by Becky Hunter, a wife of a pastor. I originally read this book since I was attending her 4 week Bible study on being good to your husband on purpose and though many things in the book are not new to me, it still gave me few new perspectives I didn’t think about before. It really helped me to think myself as a God’s gift to my husband and being good to him on purpose for God.
  3. #91 The Help by Kathryn Stockett  Loved the book and the movie!
  4. #92 Bossypants by Tina Fey I always liked Tina Fey for some reason that I don’t even know. I enjoyed the book and many parts were quite funny, too. However, now that I got to know her a bit better, I know that I don’t agree with many things with her. But she still is funny!
  5. #93 On Becoming Baby Wise: Giving Your Infant the Gift of Nighttime Sleep by Garry Ezzo and Robert Bucknam This book came back to me at a very critical time and my life literally had changed and improved! :-) I know this is a bit controversial book (I didn’t know this when I read it for my first child about four years ago but apparently many dislikes this book. I for one, have no problem letting my child cry a bit in the beginning before falling asleep and don’t think that causes a lifetime of trauma or separation anxiety, but that’s just me.) but with any parenting book, you take what works for you and you don’t have to agree or follow everything it says in the book.
  6. #94 On Becoming Babywise: Parenting Your Pre-Toddler 5 to 12 Months by Garry Ezzo and Robert Bucknam I always learn something new from Dr. Ezzo’s book and this was not an exception. I loved the point about ‘not giving a child freedom that you eventually have to take it away’ because that means you have to correct and re-teach the child at later time and who has time for that?! So true!
  7. #95 The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts by Gary Chapman LOVE! Simple as that. It doesn’t matter how many times you read it because you always take away something new.
  8. #96 Please Look After Mother by Kyung-Sook Shin A bit depressing but I can relate many sentiments in this book as a Korean.
  9. #97 Snow Angel by Jamie Carie A good book to pass time…
  10. #98 About that night by Julie James No good.
  11. #99 Sixty Acres and a Bride by Regina Jennings I enjoyed this book a lot. What an interesting way to ‘re-read’ the story of Ruth. *^^*
  12. #100 The Selection by Kiera Cass A combination of the Hunger Game and Bachelor. Enough said. :-)
  13. #101 An Unlikely Suitor by Nancy Moser I noramlly like Nancy Moser’s novels but I was a bit bored by this book.
  14. #102 The Maid of Fairbourne Hall by Julie Kalssen I’ve always loved Julie Klassen novels because I always learn something and she does so much research on the vacation of the main character. This one was of course on a housemaid and boy the things I learned! I felt like I was reading Downton Abbey with a twist.
  15. #103 The Dawn of a Dream by Ann Shorey I didn’t enjoy this book. :-( It was  interesting to read about the process of becoming a teacher and how married women could not teach in the 19th century but I found myself being bored by every little details of each class, each semester and back and forth trips home as if I was reading a diary of some sort. Plus, I was a bit frustrated by the main character for she was rather snappy, judgemental, impatient and showed many qualities that I didn’t find admirable.

What I’m reading currently:

What I’m planning to read next:

One response to “What’s On Your Nightstand: July 2012

  • Cassandra

    Being Good to Your Husband on Purpose sounds really good. Thanks for recommending it! I’m always up for reading a good book on marriage. :)

    His Last Letter has a really pretty cover! I hope it’s a great book.

    Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

