2011 Siesta Scripture Memory Verse: Verse 15

I sometimes wonder if I praise God enough for who He is and for His amazing character. My prayers are often filled with confessions and petitions and I get all caught up with my pitiful self and all the selfish things that I need and want. I sometimes wonder how much that saddens God that His loving child can’t see beyond her little world.

As part of his sermon (see below video), our pastor talked about Nehemiah a few weeks ago and his prayers that we can model. Nehemiah’s prayers consist of remembering God’s character, repenting of sin, reviewing God’s promises and remaining committed to being part of the answer or solution. Below is the portion of his prayer that remembers God’s character and I wanted to memorize it so that I can repeat it over and over again until it becomes natural for me to praise Him without even thinking.

Abi, Apopka: “LORD, the God of heaven, the great and awesome God, who keeps his covenant of love with those who love him and keep his commandments.” Nehemiah 1:5 NIV

For Siesta Scripture Memory instruction, visit The LPM blog by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

