#78 The Peach Keeper

At 30, Willa Jackson returns to her small Southern hometown, Walls of Water, N.C., in the wake of a failed marriage to her college sweetheart. She’s determined now to lead the quiet life she believes her father wants her to have, but is soon derailed by the wealthy and powerful Osgoods, the family that shaped her high school experience. The Jacksons were also wealthy once, until the logging industry failed, and Willa’s teenage grandmother went to work as a maid for the Osgoods. Paxton Osgood, Willa’s counterpart, has everything Willa envies—wealth, beauty and a sense of belonging—but Paxton hides a deep loneliness and discontent. To further complicate Willa’s unrest, Paxton’s brother, Colin, fled town years before but has returned and become an irresistible force in Willa’s life. When a skeleton that holds the secret to both the Osgood and Jackson family fortunes is discovered at the Jackson family’s old estate, long-held beliefs are likely to be overturned. Allen (The Girl Who Chased the Moon) juggles smalltown history and mystical thriller, character development and eerie magical realism in a fine Southern gothic drama. The underlying tension will please and unnerve readers, as well as leave them eager for Allen’s next.

There’s something about Allen’s novels….intriguing and delicious? I like the elements of magic and cooking/baking in her stories. I always feel like I had a sweet dessert or yummy baked goods after reading her novels and The Peach Keeper didn’t disappoint me just like I enjoyed The Girl Who Chased the Moon. I must admit though that I was a bit scared here and there with the few eerie parts of the book but that’s just me. I don’t care much for eerie superstitions or scary things. :-(

I’m checking into Allen’s other novels but I’m going to pace myself and read other books in between so that I don’t eat all the dessert first! *^^*

Leave a Reply

