2011 Siesta Scripture Memory Verse: Verse 4

The world is a dangerous place and I feel it everyday. Luke chapter 4 shows how Satan tempted Jesus in the desert. The devil tempted Jesus to worship him with the authority and splendor of the world that was given to him, which Jesus refused, of course. But it clearly tells me that this world is under the devil’s control and influence and how dangerous it is to live in this world since the devil is around us everywhere we go and tempt us as he did to the Son of God.

A couple of years ago, I read Stormie Omartian’s The Power of Praying Parent, and I came across a verse that scared me to death.

Abi, Apopka: “Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.” 1 Peter 5:8 NIV

 It drew such a vivid imagery in my mind and I just wanted to hold my child and pray over her then and there. I couldn’t imagine the devil roaring around my little precious daughter trying to devour her. The sad thing is, that’s exactly what he’s doing everyday and I can’t do anything about it in this world. However, I do have a powerful weapon of prayer with God on my side (Thank you, Jesus indeed!) that keeps me alert and of sober mind and with that, I can be at peace. Like my little girl recites often, “I will fear no evil, for you (God) are with me” (Psalm 23:4).

For Siesta Scripture Memory instruction, visit The LPM blog by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

