2011 Siesta Scripture Memory Team: Verse 2

We are visiting my parents this weekend and I love watching my daughter interacting with Pops and Grandma. Such sweet memories and I shall cherish them forever….

I lost my biological father when I was only six and my Dad (who goes by Pops now, apparently) has been there for me since I was 11 years old. Though we are not related in any way (neither biologically nor legally), he has provided for me as any good Dad would do for his daughter and he’s been always there for me. Sometimes, hearing his voice over the phone comforts me and I know everything is ok because he told me so. He’s soon to be eighty-one years old and though he’s still big, strong, mighty and powerful in my eyes, I find myself thinking about the “future” when he won’t be around us any more (like 100 years from now!). That is why every moment I spend with him is like a precious gift to me and I’m so thankful that my daughter is blessed to have such moments with her pops now. The stories I’d tell her about him after he’s gone…and I’m glad that I’ll start every conversation with, “Remember, Pops, and how he loved you? Well, I’ll tell you a story about him…”

It’s really sweet to see how excited Bella gets to see pops, grandma and aunt Merri. She’s getting so big and I just love watching her grow everyday. So, I thought how perfect is it to memorize the verses that we often recite at her bed time. It’s one of my husband’s favorite chapters in Psalm and I love every word in it.

Abi, Apopka: “The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.  You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the LORD Forever.” Psalm 23 NKJV

For Siesta Scripture Memory instruction, visit The LPM blog by clicking here.

3 responses to “2011 Siesta Scripture Memory Team: Verse 2

Leave a Reply

