Oh, Joy, Where Art Thou?

My usual December “Joy” is M.I.A. this year.

I know. It’s sad. I tried so hard to get it back but nothing seems to work. We decorated our house with all the Christmas-related stuff we own, my hubby hung Christmas lights outside, I blasted all kinds of Christmas music all day, everyday, I lit candles all over our house (I practically set our house on fire that we don’t even need heater on!) and we finally even put the Christmas tree up yesterday (yes, we have about 5 days to enjoy it before we leave town) since we thought maybe  what causes it. But, no, my Joy is still gone missing.

“Jesus is reason for the season.” I tell myself that repeatedly and I know that for a fact. I cry over it. I AM thankful and I FEEL blessed.

So why is my Joy not coming back this year?

Apparently, I think it’s about me when clearly it’s not. Not really. I’m not going to explain and list the reasons why it’s not about me. It simply isn’t and I really need to snap out of it. IT’S NOT ABOUT ME. ENOUGH SAID.

I sometimes wonder if God ever thinks, “Oh, my! Right, yes, you’re so not worth my beloved, only son’s sacrifice. To think Jesus laid down His life for you!” I really do wonder sometimes. But I know for a fact that God never thinks that nor anything in this world including myself can separate me from His love. I know this because the Bible says so.

Neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” -Romans 8:39

Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel…Shall come to thee, O Israel

2 responses to “Oh, Joy, Where Art Thou?

  • lisahof718@gmail.com

    Hi there! I found you through MomsToolbox! I am right there with you. I too have lost my joy! Decorations are up, gifts are just about purchased, reading devotions about the birth of our Lord & Savior. But for some reason I can’t get rid of this grinchy feeling. I prayed to our heavenly Father just yesterday asking for my joy to be restored. It’s nice to know that I am not alone. Saying a prayer right now for you!

  • Mary

    I’m sorry your joy is not there at the moment. I think sometimes we expect too much from the Christmas season for the wrong reasons and that gets us all messed up in our feelings. We’ve wrapped Christmas in so much worldy trapping that it gets stale after a while. Sometimes we go through this time of low joy and don’t know why. I’m sure you will recapture your joy and that God will smile when you draw into his presence again and feel his love. He’s still there. Think about being a shepherd on the hillside when the angels came to annouce the birth….their joy must have been tremendous!

Leave a Reply

