Making Your Home a Haven: Play Music

I’m participating in the Making Your Home a Haven Fall Challenge at Women Living Well and I’m a few days behind on posting this one but it’s better late than never, right? :-) This week’s challenge is:

“Play soft music everyday in your home. Choose worship, classical or another form of peaceful music that the family enjoys. Focus on using peaceful words and maintaining peaceful relationships. Remind your family to avoid seething anger, tattling, criticism or back talk. Role model gentleness this week.”

I love music so this is not that hard for me to do. I always have music, especially in the car (usually Z88, our local christian radio station, or Bella’s Bible songs with occasional adult secular music) and it’s a real blessing to hear my daughter singing the songs she listens to…well, at least she tries! There’s nothing like it and it always make me smile ear to ear and I feel a piece of heaven every time I hear her singing!

One of my favorite pianists is Yuhki Kuramoto, which I used to listen to all the time when I was in college, especially when I needed some peace, comfort and soothing in my life…. Now, I play for my daughter when she goes to sleep at night.

“The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.” -James 5:16b

It is so true and that is why I ask many of my righteous friends around me to lift me up whenever I need prayers in my life. Managing moods is one of the biggest areas I need prayers and being careful with words and how I interact with others, especially my loved ones, will greatly contribute towards making our home a heaven for sure!

Like that popular book many years ago, we don’t really need to sweat the small stuff and with little help from God, the world is really not that bad and people are quite lovely….well, most of the time! *^^*

Leave a Reply

