Making Your Home a Haven: Light a Candle

I decided to participate in the Making Your Home a Haven Fall Challenge at Women Living Well for the fall and I’m praying that God will open my eyes to the things I have missed or show my heart the things I have neglected.

“The wise woman builds her house, but with her own hands the foolish one tears hers down.” -Proverbs 14:1-

Indeed I long  to be a woman of Proverbs 31 (actually pretty much the whole Proverbs, come to think of it) more than anything and I want to be the wise woman and build my house, instead of tearing it down. I do sometimes feel like I’m doing exactly that…tearing down that is! :-( That is why this challenge is perfect for me at this time!

Light a candle and begin praying over your home every time the glimmer of the candle catches your eye.

I just lit the candle in my kitchen and said a little prayer. I know God tells me so many times throughout the day for me to “be still and know that He is God.” And my God indeed He is and forget I do indeed, so often! I pray and surrender everything to God and before I know it, I’m already trying to control everything in my life, fully knowing that they are totally out of my control! I know that lighting a candle is not going to fix that but perhaps my attitude that comes with a candle light might help me to be the woman Courtney from womenlivingwell.org described.

1. The woman of the home is engaged.

2. The woman of the home is wise with her time management.

3. The woman of the home has a pleasant demeanor.

4. The woman of the home is content.

5. The woman of the home prays.

And with that, I’m off to spend time with my precious daughter and be really engaged!

2 responses to “Making Your Home a Haven: Light a Candle

Leave a Reply

