Bible in 90 Days: Day 64 Check In

Bible in 90 Days- join in July 2010It’s labor day Monday morning; my hubby is mowing the lawn and my little princess is still asleep (it’s after 9:30am so I’m not sure what’s happening with her (maybe she had a wild night with her toys last night while we were sleeping?) but I sure am not going to wake her up since we have a long day ahead of us and she sure ain’t taking  a nap for sure. Life is good….

I’ve been lazy about my Bible reading so I’m few days behind (I just started Ezekiel) but my belly is full with God’s words! I also just started another Beth Moore study (To Live Is Christ) and I’m just so excited! I’m so encouraged by the verse in Joshua (see below) and I’m loving myself for jumping into God’s words with my both feet everyday!

Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.” -Joshua 1:8 (NIV)-

So many wonderful things are happening in my life right now (fabulous fellowship events, small group bible study, women’s bible study, wonderful books, a beautiful child and a blessed marriage) and I feel like God is pouring His blessing upon me and making me “prosper and successful” because of my meditating on His words. So thank you God for being forever faithful!

My thoughts:  

  • I think the books by three major prophets (Isaiah, Jeremiah and Ezekiel) are very hard ones to read because of its similar literary features (honestly, how much judgement against Israel and other nations can you take?). But I’m surprised by different ways to describe (or prophesy, I should say?) the same content by those prophets! I guess creativity is not that hard with God. :-)
  • Poor Jeremiah. I always feel bad for this guy. I remember watching a movie about him when I was in college and felt so sorry for him. I can’t imagine how frustrating it must have been for him to prophesy God’s words and have people not believe in what he says and prosecute him in return! His courage is truly encouraging.
  • Believe it or not, I actually enjoyed Lamentation!! I know, right?! And no, it wasn’t because it was short! :-) I liked its poetic descriptions of different things and since I’m a very visual person, many of them made sense to me. Like in verse 3:44, it says “You have covered yourself with a cloud so that no prayer can get through.” How scary it is to think that my prayers can’t get through to Him by a think cloud between us due to my sins! That definitely scared me since I rely so much on prayers and I’m so grateful that God hears my and many others’ prayers….
  • It saddens me to read about the judgement against Israel and I sometimes catch myself mourning for them, especially what Israel went through due to their sins. Can you imagine “mothers cooking their own children” (Lamentation 4:10) for they had nothing to eat?!! And yet, that’s just one picture of so many sufferings they went through. It is comforting to know though that God is forever faithful and that we have hope in Him. He is indeed our portion.

For more information, please visit Bible in 90 Days/ Blogging thru the Bible in 90 Days

One response to “Bible in 90 Days: Day 64 Check In

Leave a Reply

