Bible in 90 Days: Day 15 Check In

Bible in 90 Days- join in July 2010May I just say that I’m so unbelievably blessed to have found this challenge and read God’s words everyday?!  I know for a fact that I wouldn’t be able to do this if it weren’t for the accountability “partner” of Mom’s Toobox and the blog check-in every Monday!

One of the daily emails from the Bible in 90 Days said “Read, pay attention, but don’t try to remember everything you are reading. Knowledge is only a small portion of you are gaining from this experience. Keep at it and you’ll be rewarded in ways that never occurred to you.”  I do sometimes read the Bible with my main goal as gaining knowledge but then I lose my heart on the way so this was a great reminder for me!

“The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD turn his face toward you and give you peace.”  Nu 6:24-26

I loved this priestly blessing in Numbers and I’m memorizing it so that I can pray over my baby girl and many others.  Also, I’m going to work on starting my Bible reading with a prayer as suggested by the daily emails!

My thoughts:

  • I can’t imagine being Moses and writing all these commandments while God is speaking to him, can you? :-) 
  • It’s just amazing to read all the detailed descriptions as to what priests are to do in the tabernacle and how they were to worship God.  I’m just so grateful that Jesus came to this world and that we don’t have to worry too much about them! *^^*
  • I was just thinking how busy Aaron and his sons and other priests that followed must have been with all the sin offerings?!  I mean can you imagine all the sins (both intentional and unintentional and sometime unknown ones as well!) people committed, for which they had to bring offerings to be atoned?  I can tell you that I wouldn’t be the one to sign up to go to the seminary to be a priest if that’s the case but then, well, I’m not a male nor a Levite so I guess I don’t have to worry about that. :-)
  • I’m not good with names so I was dreading Numbers full of census info. but I actually had fun reading!  It’s quite interesting to figure out which sons belong to which father and I especially had fun reading different responsibilities of Levites’ clans.
  • It’s so comforting to know that almighty God is on my side and that I don’t need to be afraid before my enemies!
  • It was interesting to read about how Israelites were to stone or kill those who worship other gods or idols from the promised land as God commanded them to do since I’m sure that was the basis of Paul’s (or Saul prior) action of crucifying Christians before he met God on the road to Damascus.
  • Deuteronomy (meaning: repetition of law) is somewhat hard to read since I’ve already read them before but it is helpful to refresh my memory of God’s law.
  • It’s interesting to see how wise my God is with all His laws (e.g. multiple witnesses rather than one, cities of refuges, etc.), which are commonly practiced today for the good of people.
  • This week’s reading made me think of women’s role a lot.  Yes, there were many practices in ancients days that were definitely not fair for women and some of them were down right despicable, but I did like some of them.  For example, women belonged to their fathers or husbands, which made women more like possession to men.  However, men were also responsible for women, which meant that they were to guide them to do what’s right.

For more information, please visit Bible in 90 Days/ Blogging thru the Bible in 90 Days.

One response to “Bible in 90 Days: Day 15 Check In

  • Mary

    I like that blessing in Numbers, too and read something in the Life Application Bible that helps me remember it and what it means:
    “The Lord bless you ( his provision) and keep you (his protection), the Lord make his face shine upon you (be pleased) and be gracious to you (his pardon); the Lord turn his face towards you (his presence) and give you peace (his peace). ” I often pray those “p” elements for people even if I don’t remember the words to this blessing. Blessings to all of your this day and always!

Leave a Reply

