Bible in 90 Days: Day 8 Check In

Bible in 90 Days- join in July 2010First week of Bible in 90 Days challenge has been…well, quite challenging! :-)  I started the challenge about four days late so I had three days to read seven days worth material!  I feel like every time my daughter asked me, “Mommy, what are you doing now?” this weekend, I answered, “reading the Bible.” :-)

I got an email from one of the mentors of the program (thank you, Jessica!) and it was so wonderful to know that I have someone to pray over me and encourage me through the process.  I actually sent my prayer request to her and I have no doubt that she’s praying for me!

I actually read Exodus first and then Genesis this week (I still have few chapters left in Genesis but I can totally catch up today, I think!) and I really enjoyed reading Exodus.  Yes, there are a lot of laws and the details of the whole build tabernacle is not that fun to read, but it is truly amazing to see God’s work in the whole process of bringing His people out of Egypt.  Below are few of my thoughts:

  • I love the fact that God “lived” among men and had direct conversations them!  How much easier my life would be if God literally spoke to me with His clear voice because then I wouldn’t have to doubt or second-guess my decisions!  But then, I’m sure I’d probably sin as easily as I do now.
  • How awful the godly people were back then, even the most respected and so-called righteous ones!  That gives me hope and I can assure myself that it is ok that I’m not perfect and God can and will still use me to fulfill His plan.
  • I like monogamy and am glad I don’t have to deal with multiple wives and concubines! :-)
  • People did live a long time back then indeed!  I wonder if life felt long and boring for them. :-)
  • It is important to know that God created us and when He tells us or leads us to do something, we are not to give our excuses.  False humility based on insecurity (saying I’m not worthy or good enough to do such things for God) is just another form of pride.  Who are we to say that we are not good enough to do God’s work when in fact, God is the one who actually does all the work and He merely uses us to fulfill it?  I pray that whenever God asks me to do something, I’d say, “Here I am, Lord. Send me!” just like Isaiah did.
  • I was very annoyed and irritated by the Israelites for their grumblings in the desert, even after what God had done for them!  But then, I realized that I probably do the same thing by failing to remember God’s grace and mercy and repeating sins over and over again!  I’m just glad that there is no book of Bible written about my life for all to read! L-)
  • Really, Pharaoh? How do you not get the all powerful-ness of God after all that plagues you received?! :-)
  • Sin causes temporary “withdrawal” of God in our life (evil and sin is indeed absence of God!) so watch out!
  • Have you read the regulations given by God in Exodus?  Though they were given by the grace of God for men’s good, men twisted them around and sometimes use them to harm us more than do good (Pharisee and Sadducee were so caught up with rules and traditions and lose focus on what’s really important!).
  • God does what He says He’ll do and He never fails.  How great to know that He never disappoints us and that we can trust Him with no worries!!

For more information, please visit Bible in 90 Days/ Blogging thru the Bible in 90 Days.

5 responses to “Bible in 90 Days: Day 8 Check In

  • Helen

    watching you read your Bible is something that your sweet daughter will remember always & in doing so you are instilling a great blessing in her, glad to hear you’re enjoying the 90 day challenge
    Helen

  • bekahcubed

    What a blessing for a little girl to hear, again and again, that her mommy is reading the Bible! That’s definitely a worthwhile legacy to pass on.

    I’m impressed by all of the great gals (including you) who are undertaking this 90 day challenge!

  • Amy

    Glad to see you got caught up so fast!
    Blessed to be on this journey with you!
    Many Blessings!

  • Missie

    Congrats on getting so much done all at once! That is awesome!
    I totally agree with you that it would be so much easier if God was talking face to face with us!

  • Kara

    I love your thoughts! Genesis is such a great book, and I enjoyed Exodus too (although, as you said, the tabernacle stuff is a bit difficult to get through…).

Leave a Reply

