The Greatest by Cat Power

I watched two cute movies recently; My Blueberry Nights and 17 Again.  And I got to know a song called The Greatest by Cat Power that was in both movies ironically!  I don’t know how to explain but the song is quite….soulful, and I love the singer’s voice.  You can listen to the song below.

I know, I know.  Seriously, Zac Efron’s movie?! :-)  I was at the library with Bella and I didn’t see any movies I wanted to check out while Bella was picking out yet another Wiggles DVD and I went, what the heck!  *^^*  I must tell you, it was such a cute and sometimes touching movie!!!  I loved Zac’s acting in this movie and he was quite adorable(?).  I literally laughed out loud throughout the movie.  There was one scene that I really liked where Zac’s character was pretending to read a letter (which wasn’t a letter after all and he was saying it from his heart) to his wife in divorce court:

“Scarlet, before you go through this, I want to remind you of September 7th, 1988. It was the first time that I saw you. You were reading Less Than Zero, and you were wearing a Guns ‘n’ Roses t-shirt. I’d never seen anything so perfect. I remember thinking that I had to have you or I’d die… then you whispered that you loved me at the homecoming dance, and I felt so peaceful… and safe… because I knew that no matter what happened, from that day on, nothing can ever be that bad… because I had you. And then I, uh… I grew up and I lost my way. And I blamed you for my failures. And I know that you think you have to do this today… but I don’t want you to. But I guess… if I love you, I should let you move on.”

I’m such a teenager!  Go ahead, laugh it up, but I’m proud to say that I loved this movie! :-)

I heard of Norah Jones being in a movie a long time ago but I didn’t know it was by Kar Wai Wong who also directed one of my favorite movie called, Chungking Express.  The film was so colorful, trendy, cute, beautiful and intriguing and I loved Jude Law’s character and his facial expressions in the whole movie.  Norah Jones (whose music I love so dearly that my husband even played in the background while he was proposing to me!) did a great job with her acting and she was just so adorable!

Leave a Reply

