Daniel Day-Lewis

I “felt in love” with Daniel Day-Lewis in The Last of the Mohicans when I was 13.  Even though I didn’t speak English back then and had to rely on the subtitles, I could understand his character so well because he played the part so perfectly.

And then he impressed me over and over again with his movies (In the Name of the Father, The Age of Innocence, The Crucible and Gangs of New York to name a few) and never let me down.  Today, I watched another movie of his, Nine.  

I love musicals but I’m not into movies that has musical elements so this was totally out of my comfort zone.  And I must be honest and say that I was not crazy about the film.  But it was really entertaining to watch all the women perform different songs including Judi Dench!  And Daniel Day-Lewis’ performance was still fabulously beautiful.  I think Judi Dench said that Daniel pours his character into himself so completely that he transforms himself into a character perfectly and that all there left of Daniel himself is just his skin.  So true.

 

Leave a Reply

