You are so good to your daughter

My dear sweet husband,

I was watching parenthood on TV today and found myself crying, watching this father having hard time letting his fifteen-year-old daughter “grow up” so to speak.  And of course, I thought of you the whole time. :-)

You are such a wonderful daddy to our little girl and I’m so thankful that Bella has you to look up and compare other “boys” to (yes, whether you like it or not, she will encounter other boys, trust me! *^^*).  I know that our Bella will grow up to be a beautiful and godly woman and I pray that she will be wise in choosing a man who meets the standard that you set up.  (I really am not trying to give you a heart attack here, I promise! :-))

My Favorite "Father & Daughter" :-)

I can’t wait for Bella to get a bit older so that you can start taking her out on father-and-daughter dates, where you will show her how man should treat a woman.  She will learn from you that a godly man ought to…

  • follow Christ with all his heart and worship God and only God
  • be gentle
  • treat women with utmost respect
  • guide and counsel his wife
  • be courteous
  • love his wife as Christ loved the church
  • open and hold the doors for a lady
  • be honest
  • protect his wife from all things
  • be righteous
  • know (or at least try *^^*) how to listen to his wife’s needs
  • make his wife the priority in his life and let her know that she’s the most important person in the world to him
  • take responsibility and exercise leadership with authority given by God
  • take care of his wife
  • be a best friend to his wife
  • bring water to his wife in her nightstand :-)
  • know saying “yes, ma’am” is the secret to a happy marriage :-)
  • know his wife is right at all times :-)
  • give back rubs night after night :-)

Ok, so I couldn’t help it toward the end of the list, but you know what I’m trying to say. :-)

I know our Bella will love like you do and I’m glad for it, my love….

Daughters by John Mayer

I know a girl
She puts the color inside of my world
But she’s just like a maze
Where all of the walls are continually changed
And I’ve done all I can
To stand on her steps with my heart in my hands
Now I’m starting to see
Maybe it’s got nothing to do with me

Fathers, be good to your daughters
Daughters will love like you do
Girls become lovers who turn into mothers
So mothers, be good to your daughters too

Oh, you see that skin?
It’s the same she’s been standing in
Since the day she saw him walking away
Now I’m left
Cleaning up the mess he made

So fathers, be good to your daughters
Daughters will love like you do
Girls become lovers who turn into mothers
So mothers, be good to your daughters too

Boys, you can break
You’ll find out how much they can take
Boys will be strong
And boys soldier on
But boys would be gone without the warmth from
A womans good, good heart

On behalf of every man
Looking out for every girl
You are the god and the weight of her world

So fathers, be good to your daughters
Daughters will love like you do
Girls become lovers who turn into mothers
So mothers, be good to your daughters too

6 responses to “You are so good to your daughter

  • Mary

    I hate to make Peter’s head swell any larger, but you have a pretty special husband and a wonderful daddy for your beautiful daughter. God knew what he was doing when he brought you together :-)

  • Beth

    That was beautiful! You and Bella are both richly blessed! (So is your hubby btw!)

  • Katie

    I don’t know what makes my heart happier – your post or his comment!

    God bless you both! And that picture – she has her Daddy’s smile! It’s precious!

    • Abi

      Thanks for your comment, Katie! We always joke that Bella doesn’t look anything like Daddy so I’m glad you see Daddy’s smile in her. I bet that will make my hubby happy! :-)

  • Daddy

    Thank you Beautiful. It’s impossible to put into a short comment box what my two favorite ladies mean to me. I love you both so dearly. If I have any ability to be a good husband or good father it comes from our Father in Heaven and the wonderful example of my father (and mother) I was blessed with on earth. I wish you could have met dad, it would have explained a lot about me, as he too would be questioning of the tail end of your list of things men should do for women! The jury is still debating the back rubs and water on the nightstands. I’ll let Bella come up with her own special chores for her future (very very distant future) husband. There I said it. Now I’m going to have to go fix a drink. Is it illegal to keep a flask in your desk drawer at work?

    • Abi

      No it’s not illegal to keep a flask in your desk drawer at work especially for you since there’s no doubt that your flask is full of sweet iced tea or cranberry juice! :-) Ha ha ha.

Leave a Reply

