What’s on My Nightstand: April 2010

I’m participating in What’s On Your Nightstand , which is a way to connect with other bloggers and share my “reading list” and reading habits of mine monthly from 5 Minutes for Books.  What’s On Your Nightstand happens on the FOURTH Tuesday of every month.

This month has been crazy with all the activities that’re going on (church activities, birthday parties, playdates, traveling, a house guest, Bible studies, etc.) but I’m proud to say that I managed to read six book in the past four weeks.  Due to my reading goal this year, my husband has become quite a reader himself (though he always read for pleasure before).  Since his wife is busy reading, he had to find something to entertain him and I think it’s quite cute that we both have books on our hands reading on the couch or bed together. :-)

In addition to my reading goal this month, I hope to spend more time reading children’s books to my baby girl. *^^* 

What I finished reading this month:

  1. Screen Play by Chris Coppernoll
  2. Crazy Love: overwhelmed by a relentless God by Francis Chan
  3. Beguiled by Deeanne Gist and J. Mark Bertrand
  4. The Dark Divine by Bree Despain
  5. Stand-in Groom by Kaye Dacus
  6. Ransome’s Honor by Kaye Dacus

Click each title above for my reviews.

What I’m reading currently:

  1. The Apothecary’s Daughter by Julie Klassen (I was supposed to read this last month but I got distracted by other authors. :-))
  2. Having a Mary Spirit by Joanna Weaver (I read her previous book, Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World, which was good but I think this one is much better so far!)
  3. Sheet Music by Kevin Leman (I heard many good things about this book to help with intimacy in marriage and my husband and I are reading it together. It’s quite funny and true and we have been enjoying reading it together.)
  4. Marriage Project by Kathi Lipp (This book has 21 days project to spice up your marriage and so far, I’m liking the book)

What I’m planning to read next:

  1. The Surrendered by Chang-rae Lee (I read a book review in one of the magazines my sister-in-law was reading (I can’t remember which) and I was intrigued by the story that took place partially in my native country, South Korea.)
  2. Washington’s Lady by Nacy Moser (Jennifer from Snapshot recommended this writer to me on my blog so I think I’m going to check it out this month!)
  3. Life of Pi by Yann Martel
5 responses to “What’s on My Nightstand: April 2010

  • Mary

    And interesting selection. I might look for the Mary/Martha books you mention. Keeping track of your books like this is fun to read. I’ve been keeping track of my reading for years, but since I read mostly mysteries, I’d be embarassed to blog what I read all the time. I used to try for more variety, now I’m too lazy :-)

  • Fonda

    6 books in 4 weeks is impressive to me. I really liked Sheet Music, but then I have liked evertthing I have read of Kevin Leman’s. Thanks for the reviews.

  • bekahcubed

    I read Apothecary’s Daughter last month and enjoyed it–and I’ve got Washington’s Lady on my list for next month too! We’ll have to compare notes. =)

  • Carrie, Reading to Know

    Washington’s Lady IS awesome!

    I love reading books with my husband. One of the reasons I married him (or was attracted to him?) was because he was a reader! I couldn’t fathom marrying someone who didn’t like to read. =D

    In fact, one of the books that Jonathan just read and wants me to read is Crazy Love. SO….gotta get to that!

  • Upstatemomof3

    The Apothecary’s Daughter I had heard was very good.

Leave a Reply

