I am His and He is Mine

This morning at the Easter service, I witnessed a baptism of two beautiful children of God, a little girl and a young woman, and I could not hold back my tears for the joy I felt for them and for God, for another victory for God’s children over evil and for the hope of many more battles to be won.

The little girl was baptised by her grandfather and I could not imagine the joy he must have felt in his heart and how proud he must be for his little grand-daughter.  I could see it in his eyes, hear it in his trembling voice and feel it through a long and tight embrace he gave her after she got out of the water.  And I thought how more proud her heavenly Father must be at that moment and how joyful her Lord is for another lamb returned home.  He is our God and He’s so good….

“I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; and whoever lives and believes in me will never die.” -John 11:25-26

Jesus IS my life and I belong to Him.  I am His and He is mine.  What a relief it is to know that my identity lies with him, not with this world and that God loves me the way I am, no matter what.  I have hope and nobody can ever take that away from me.

Leave a Reply

