A Submissive Wife

I’m wearing a princess tiara of wife for this post.

“Wives, submit to your husbands as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior.” Ephesians 5:22-23-

Simple. Crystal clear. No confusion whatsoever there as to what God wants us wives to do; submit. So why is it so hard then?! Am I too stubborn and too head strong to be a wife? Was I not meant to play this part? I don’t know about you, ladies, but I am struggling here…almost everyday!

I love being a wife, don’t get me wrong.  I used to think that I’d never get married and that I’d live alone (without cats, of course *^^*) and have my career as my companion.  I was never satisfied with the society’s view on women (especially in my home country, South Korea) and I told myself that I’d never put myself through a relationship where I’m treated inferiorily to my husband or anyone for that matter. Plus, frankly I never thought I’d be lucky and blessed enough to meet a perfect someone who was provided by God, just for me.  Well, I met my husband, Peter, about eight years ago and that was that. 

I had relationships before my husband for sure since I was 25 years old when I met Peter.  But I have never experienced the feelings of being in love, so in a way, Peter is my first and last love.  He was the first man my heart ached for and the first man who made me understand the true meaning of feeling butterflies flying in my stomach.  I adore this man so much that it’s just ridiculous sometimes and I can not imagine my life without him (hence, I’m praying that God will take both of us home together at the same time!).  So yes, I love being a wife and I wouldn’t change it for the world.  But that doesn’t mean I didn’t have difficulties during our five years of marriage, and I’m still struggling (although it’s much better than when I just got married, thanks to my merciful Father in heaven!).

I tell you, I’m not a very “submissive” woman, period.  In fact, first thing I told my husband when we were dating was, “Listen, I’m not one of those Asian women who would bow down to serve and worship their husbands, so you can forget that.  In fact, I’m quite head strong and have opinion about pretty much everything, so you’d better get used to it!”  I don’t know why that didn’t raise a red flag to my husband back then but I am sure glad he didn’t run away from me. :-)  So no, submission doesn’t come to me naturally; therefore, I had a lot of problems with being submissive and respect my husband’s authority as a head of our household given by Christ. 

But of course, as He always does, God sent me His words when I needed them the most.  And it was quite simple.  God has given me the authority and power over the enemy (“I have given you authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to overcome all the power of the enemy; nothing will harm you.” Luke 10:19-) but God gave the “final” authority to husband as far as the marriage is concerned (“Wives, submit to your husbands as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior.” Ephesians 5:22-23-).  I’m a very visual person and the image of Christ instructing the church and the church being obedient and submissive to Christ really spoke to me today.  I’m to receive my husband and treat him as such NO MATTER WHAT because God gave him such authority over me and who am I to say, no thank you, right?!

I’m blessed that my husband is a God-fearing man and that he loves and cares for me as Christ does church.  It definitely make it easier for me to love, respect and honor him.  Ladies, if you have a husband like mine, I say you join me and kneel down to thank and praise our Father for such blessing.  If you don’t have a God-fearing husband, my hearts go out to you and I pray that you’d kneel down and ask that God would guide and lead your husband to be a such man.  I pray that all the wives out there be submissive to their husbands so that it’s pleasing to our heavenly father.  Believer me, your marriage will get so much better the moment you have a submissive heart!

Leave a Reply

