#5 The Silent Governess

Believing herself guilty of a crime, Olivia Keene flees her home, eventually stumbling upon a grand estate where an elaborate celebration is in progress. But all is not as joyous as it seems. Lord Bradley has just learned a terrible secret, which, if exposed, will change his life forever. When he glimpses a figure on the grounds, he fears a spy or thief has overheard his devastating news. He is stunned to discover the intruder is a scrap of a woman with her throat badly injured. Fearing she will spread his secret, he gives the girl a post and confines her to his estate. As Olivia and Lord Bradley’s secrets catch up with them, will their hidden pasts ruin their hope of finding love?  <Source: Amazon.com>

I was introduced to The Silent Governess by Julie Klassen by one of the Bloggers I follow, Jolanthe, and I must say I was pleasantly surprised to find myself not being able to put it down until I was finished and satisfied with knowing how the story ends (and if you know me, you’d know very few books have that kind of effect on me)!  Klassen indeed made me keep guessing and re-guessing throughout the whole book and I had fun getting “lost” in the midst of 19th century England.  This was definitely a fun read and I might have to check out the author’s other novels for my future reading pleasure!

One thing I thought about while I was reading this book is that love and romance don’t have to be “physical” as many novels do these days by describing the details of “love-making” and that you can do wonders with delineating one’s thoughts and spoken words if you are to evoke the readers’ romantic side of things.

One response to “#5 The Silent Governess

Leave a Reply

