#4 The Three Weissmanns of Westport

I picked up The Three Weissmanns of Westport by Cathleen Schine  because I love everything Jane Austen (don’t we all?!) and I read somewhere that this novel is “Sense and Sensibility” transported to the modern world in the lives of three women in Westport.

Like in many of Jane Austen’s novel, I fell in love with some characters, got annoyed by others and still craved for more in the others with The Three Weissmanns of Westport.  While I enjoyed Schine’s novel and her own twist in the story line at the end, which was very unlike Sense and Sensibility, I couldn’t stop wishing that I got to know some characters better and spent more time with them, especially Roberts. 

I think we all have been one of the three women at some point in our lives – cautious, responsible, timid and too realistic at time like Annie; free, careless, self-centered and yet deep and pure-hearted like Miranda; and unrealistic, spoiled, naive and yet caring and wise at times like Betty.  It seems obvious that the balance of things is the key to happiness and contentment, which is totally easy said than done.  Perhaps that is why we love indirect life experience through many characters in the book, especially of Jane Austen.

I must say, however, I was a bit disappointed by the unexpected twist of the story at the end regarding Miranda’s love, which left me with a bit of bitter taste, though I saw it coming pages and pages before it actually happened.  Perhaps it’s because I’m a hopeless romantic in conventional way and that I believe in how we were meant to love and be loved….

Leave a Reply

