My Dearest Valentine…

My darling husband,

Can you believe this is our 5th Valentine’s Day as a married couple?  Time flies indeed….

You know how we always talk about us not remembering the time before we met each other?  Well, I was trying to remember the very first time I realized that I loved you and I just couldn’t remember it.  I remember the very first time we met at Wal-Mart check-out line (yes, technically the very first time I met you since you saw me first earlier that morning at our graduate school orientation).  When our eyes met somehow, you stood up and came right up to me to say hello.  I had no idea who you were and I was a bit scared I think.  But I sure am glad that you did say hi that day.  I remember the very first time I found out that you actually liked me as a woman, not just a friend.  It was quite funny since two of my girlfriends locked me in the car and wouldn’t let me out of the car until I “confess” that we were in a relationship.  Yes, looking back, my girlfriends maybe were right about no man would spend that much time with a woman that he’s not interested in.  That night I asked you if you liked me and you said yes.  And though I was scared and cried all night thinking that we’d never be friends again, I sure am glad you said yes that night.  I remember the very first time we kissed on the bottom of the stairs to my apartment.  You accompanied me on one of my night walks that night and I remember you being so nervous.  I thought that was very sweet and endearing and I asked you first if I could kiss you, and you said yes.  Though I thought your heart was going to burst for I could feel your fast and loud heart beats, I sure am glad we kissed that night under the stars.  I remember having butterflies in my stomach for the very first time in my life….

Yes, I remember so many “first times” with you, but I can’t seem to remember when I loved you for the very first time.  Maybe I loved you on the night of our first kiss or maybe I loved you on one of my night walks that you accompanied me.  Or maybe, just maybe, I loved you the very first time you said hello but I just never really realized it until later.  I’m not sure when it happened but one thing for sure, I do love you more than anything in this world and I feel like I have loved you all my life even before I met you.  I know that I love you because nobody has ever made me feel this way before and I feel so safe with you.  I know that I love you because I actually love it when you touch me and you know how I feel about other people touching me. *^^*  I know that I love you because God had brought you to me that summer of 2002 as His perfect provision for me and you have never left my side ever since.  And that is why I’m so sure of one thing: our marriage is not only going to last forever but we will have fun and share lots of memories and laughter until we both get home to God.

I’m so proud of us two for the things we have accomplished together as one so far.  We made through our very difficult first two years of marriage where we had to make a lot of sacrifices and adjustments.  There were many tears and broken hearts, but we never gave up, set our priorities straight and put God in the center of our lives.  We made a home where we can be nobody but ourselves and be safe.  And you know that is very important to me since I never really had a home growing up.  And we “made” Bella as a fruit of our love and God’s grace who is an apple of our eyes and a joy to watch.  I don’t know what God has planned for us in the future but I can not wait to find out what’s next on our life journey together.

Happy Valentine’s Day, Baby.  You are my everything and I love you so very much that it actually hurts.  Thank you for loving me and providing for our family.  You are the greatest gift I could ever ask for and I plan to keep you for a very very very long time. *^^*

With Endless Love,

Your Sarang

Leave a Reply

