The Big Challenge!

Image Source: http://www.penguin.co.uk/static/cs/uk/0/minisites/52books/index.htmlI AM NOT A READER!

I do not read much unless flipping through magazines counts as reading.  There was a time in my life where I enjoyed reading more than anything and reading any and every book besides text books was like tasting heaven on earth.  So what happened you might ask?  Well…I came to THIS country after high school where English is spoken everywhere you turn and my native language, Korean, is nowhere to be found.  I started college after less than 10 weeks of language school and took a biology (don’t ask me why) class in my first semester where a word was consist of more than 24 letters.  Yes, reading and studying English text books was a torture (for a lack of better words) enough and in my spare time (if I had any indeed), reading English books for pleasure was the last thing on my mind.  It’s been six years since my graduate school and you’d think I’d be over that by now.  But no, I haven’t….

So why did I decide to read all of sudden?  Well, ever since I quit my job and became a full time Mommy, I can feel that my brain is getting dumber and dumber every day.  I probably use the same 1000 words all together over and over again I’m sure and my creativities and imaginations are literally six feet down under.  And now, I have a two year old little girl, Bella, who loves watching Disney princess DVDs more than reading (wonder where she got that from?) and that’s bad.  So I wanted to challenge myself with one book a week and spend less time online, watching TV or redecorating the house.

I have asked my husband last night what he thought of reading possibly 52 books in a year (I didn’t tell him that this was going to be my challenge yet) and he said that 12-24 books will be more reasonable.  I know he’s right and maybe he’s wise.  Being the prefectionist that I am, I know I’ll be more focused on checking off the number of books I’ve read on my list rather than actually enjoying the reading part.  But I can’t remember when was the last time I challenged myself to so anything!  Besides, what have I got to lose?  Nothing really!  If nothing else, Bella will find an interest in sitting down with her books.

So here I go!  52 books in 2010!  I’m starting today so I already lost about 5 weeks (5 books) so I won’t be heart broken if I read 47 books by the end of the year.  But if I read 52 books, I’m going to give myself a big present and buy me a new laptop!  I’m sure my husband would love that since he’ll be paying for my present! :-)  But I know he’ll be happy to do it for me because he loves me the most, second to Jesus!! *^^*

So wish me luck!

In His Grace,

Abi

<Image Source: http://www.penguin.co.uk/static/cs/uk/0/minisites/52books/index.html>

2 responses to “The Big Challenge!

Leave a Reply

