What’s on My Nightstand: February 2010

I’m participating in What’s On Your Nightstand , which is a way to connect with other bloggers and share my “reading list” and reading habits of mine monthly from 5 Minutes for Books.  What’s On Your Nightstand happens on the FOURTH Tuesday of every month.

This is my first participation with What’s On Your Nightstand and I’m very excited.  I just started my new challenge (52 books in 2010) in February so this was a perfect way to keep me motivated and up to date with my reading!  So far, I’m in good shape with challenge and I feel like I have my young adulthood passion back, which is the joy of reading!  Who knows, I can maybe challenge myself next year with 70 books!  But for now, I’ll just calm myself down and slowly move towards my “humble” goal…. :-) 

What I finished reading this month:

  1. However Tall the Mountain by Awista Ayub
  2. The Prayer that Heals:praying for healing in the family by Francis MacNutt
  3. The Power of a Praying Parent by Stormie Omartian

Click each title above for my reviews.

What I’m reading currently:

  1. The Three Weissmanns of Westport by Cathleen Schine (I came across her blog (http://www.cathleenschine.com/) somehow and found that this novel is inspired by Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. And we all know how I’m obsessed with anything Jane Austen….) 
  2. The Waitress by Melissa Nathan (This book and I go a long way back! I bought it at the bookstore in Melbourne during my business trip in 2006 after I finished my airplane reading book I brought with me. I don’t like it (hence, I still haven’t finished in 4 years!) but now I’m determined to finished it so that I can decide whether or not to throw it out! *^^*)
  3. Crazy Love : overwhelmed by a relentless God by Francis Chan (I have listened to his sermon few times, which I enjoyed, and found out that he wrote this book. So why not?!)
  4. The Top 100 Men of the Bible by Drew Josephs (Found it on the bookshelf and thought it would be a perfect bathroom reading material. *^^*) 

What I’m planning to read next:

  1. Left Behind by Tim Lahaye & Jerry B. Jenkins (I have almost all the books in the series given by my Dad’s wife, Jackie, since 4 years ago and I think it’s time to tackle them!)
  2. Shanghai Girls by Lisa See (I picked it up from the library display just because I was in “China” mood thinking about my adopted 9-year-old sister from China)
  3. The Silent Governess by Julie Klassen (Read the review from another blogger, Jolanthe, and I’m waiting this to arrive in the mail!)
  4. Life Support by Robert Whitlow (I’ve had this book for five years and I think it’s about time I read it!)

About Abi

God's Beloved, my husband's Beautiful and a blessed Mama of two darling girls... View all posts by Abi

7 responses to “What’s on My Nightstand: February 2010

  • irisofmine

    I have not read either of the authors you mentioned, but I definitely will keep them in mind for my future reading. Thank you, Kelly! And you should definitely finish the last book of the Left Behind series since you are almost there!!! :-)

  • Kelly

    LOVE reading! And I too am a huge, big-time, humongo Jane fan!! Have you ever read anything by Elizabeth Gaskell or Fanny Burney? “Wives and Daughters” by Elizabeth Gaskell and “Camilla” by Fanny Burney are two of my favorites. Some people think that Miss Jane got the idea for the title “Pride and Prejudice” from Ms. Burney’s book “Cecilia”. Love those women!

    The “Left Behind” series is so good! You know what, I got through the whole thing except the last book. How sad is that? You’re inspiring me to start them up again. I always have a huge reading list but things jump into it from recommendations and friend inspirations. Ahhh, to have a summer day on the porch to read…read…read…with iced coffee in hand, LOL.

    Happy Tuesday!

  • Mama Holli

    Found you at Mommy Blogs!! Sending a vote your way today! How was the book, The Power of A Praying Parent?

    • irisofmine

      Welcome to my blog and thanks for the vote! I liked the book, the Power of a Praying Parent, and now I’m reading/praying the Power of a Praying Wife. You should definitely check it out! I’m going to visit your blog now. :-)

  • bekahcubed

    Ooo–your whole list looks fun. I think I have about half of those on my TBR list (and wouldn’t mind adding the rest). Have fun reading!

  • Nise'

    I need to check out The Three Weissmanns of Westport too! Good luck with your challenge goal.

  • Jennifer@5 Minutes for Books

    Welcome!!

    Looks like some good books there. Good luck with your goal. I find that once I start reading more, I want to read more and make time for it.

Leave a comment